National Park Authority elects new Chair

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Bannau Brycheiniog National Park Authority took place on Friday 28th June at the Authority’s Head Offices in Brecon. Cllr. Gareth Ratcliffe (Powys County Council appointed Member) was unanimously voted in as the new Chair of the Authority while Mr. Edward Evans (Welsh Government appointed Member and former Chair) was appointed as Deputy Chair.

Other key appointments were made at the meeting and these include Mr. Julian Stedman being re-elected as Chair of the Planning, Access and Rights of Way (PAROW) committee with Cllr. Edwin Roderick re-elected as Deputy Chair.

The newly elected Chair of Brecon Beacons National Park Authority, Cllr. Gareth Ratcliffe said;

“I’m honoured and excited to take on this important role and look forward to working collaboratively over the next twelve months.  My future priorities, are working with all our members, to support our Chief Executive, Julian Atkins, in delivering a National Park that benefits our residents, visitors and Wales. As we move forward I look forward to working in partnership with our Community Councils, Local Authorities, partner organisations and National Governments. The work we need to do cannot be achieved by a couple of organisations but needs a collective effort from all Members, officers, staff, volunteers and communities of the National Park.”

Cllr. Ann Webb was re-elected as Chair of Audit and Scrutiny, with Mr. Ian Rowett as the Deputy.  Ms. Deborah Perkin will continue in the position of Chair for the Sustainable Development Fund committee with Cllr. Karen Laurie-Parry as her Deputy.

The Policy Forum will be chaired by Mr. James Marsden with Cllr. Graham Thomas fulfilling the Deputy Chair role.

Julian Atkins, CEO of Bannau Brycheiniog National Park Authority said:

“I would like to congratulate all of the Members who have been elected/re-elected to these important roles within the Authority. Our National Park is facing changing and uncertain times and I look forward to working with all of the appointees over the next twelve months to ensure our National Park remains valued and resilient.”

To watch the recording of the AGM visit and further details of the committee structure and membership please visit the

– ENDS –